Welcome to New Mexico's Disciplinary Board 

The New Mexico Supreme Court has the inherent power and duty to prescribe the qualifications that shall be required for admission to practice law; to admit persons to practice law; to prescribe standards of conduct for lawyers; and to determine the grounds for and to discipline lawyers for misconduct. The Supreme Court also has the authority to define the practice of law and to prohibit the unauthorized practice of law within the State of New Mexico.

Pursuant to its authority and jurisdiction, the Court has established the New Mexico Disciplinary Board and the rules and procedures regarding the investigation of alleged unethical conduct and the unauthorized practice of law. The procedures are designed to provide a thorough and objective review of the complained of conduct and to resolve the matter in a way that is fair to those involved.

Daily operations of the Board and investigations and prosecution of allegations of attorney misconduct and the unauthorized practice of law are performed by the Office of Disciplinary Counsel.

Please use the links on this page to obtain more information and complaint forms for both allegations of attorney misconduct and the unauthorized practice of law by former or non-attorneys.

2020 Disciplinary Board of Directors

Hon. Cynthia Fry (Ret.) Chair
Howard Thomas, Esq.
Deena L. Buchanan, Esq.
John M. Caraway, Esq. Member
Deborah M. DeMack, Esq. Member
Randy J. Knudson, Esq.
Hon. Irene Mirabal-Counts
Doug Perrin, Esq. Member
Thomas Rothfeld, M.D.
Elizabeth J. Travis, Esq.
Alex C. Walker, Esq.
Vickie R. Wilcox, Esq.
Honorable Barbara J. Vigil
NM Supreme Court Liaison

To contact us

Our address
2440 Louisiana Blvd. NE, Ste 280
Albuquerque, NM 87110

Our phone numbers
Office (505) 842-5781
FAX (505) 766-6833